Fayette City Council changes method of collecting sales tax

The Fayette City Council greeted Alabama Secretary of State John Merrill at its council meeting on July 9. From left, front: State Representative Kyle South, Councilman Jason Cowart, Merrill, Fayette Mayor Ray Nelson and Fayette Coordinator for the Alabama Communities of Excellence Bobby Avant. Back: Councilmen Jerry Nichols, Cedric Wilson and Eddy Campbell.

The Fayette City Council voted at its July 9 meeting to cancel its current contract with Avenu/RDS for sales tax collection and return to having the tax collected by the State of Alabama. Councilwoman Linda McCraw was absent from the meeting, with all other council members in attendance. Prior to the start of the meeting, current Alabama Secretary of State John Merrill spoke to the city council concerning his upcoming bid for a U.S. Senate seat.


See complete story in The Times-Record.
Subscribe now!