Fayette County

Former commissioner, Jerrell Aldridge, dies at age 81

Jerrell Aldridge

Former Fayette County Commissioner Jerrell Aldridge of Bankston died on Jan. 4 at the Fayette Medical Center’s Long-Term Care facility at the age of 81. Aldridge was appointed in 2003 to fill the unexpired term of Commissioner Hubert Norris, who was elected to serve another term as sheriff in Nov. 2002. Aldridge served two years as commissioner, including a year as Fayette County Commission Chairman in 2004.


Winter contrast

Pictured is a portion of a wooded area covered in snow on Monday morning, Jan. 3.

This Christmas and New Year’s season was unusually warm, with the high temperature in Fayette reaching 82 on New Year’s Day. However, the weather can change quickly in Alabama, and the high temperature on Jan. 2 was only 46 degrees. A light snow began falling at about 7 p.m. that night that fortunately caused little travel problems and provided great winter scenery.


County basketball teams suffer through tough week

The Fayette County Tigers boys’ team hosted Caledonia High School in basketball on Dec. 6, losing by a score of 49-44. Freshman Tucker Whitley led the scoring for the Tigers with 18 points, followed by Lucas Boyd with 11. The next night, Fayette lost a heartbreaker to Northside on the road by the score of 57-56. Whitley again led the Tigers in scoring with 24 points. Landon Lowe scored 13 points, followed by Kealand Savage with 12 points.


Walker receives 20-year sentence

Demetrus Deundra Walker

The office of 24th Judicial Circuit District Attorney Andy Hamlin recently announced the guilty plea and 20-year sentence of a repeat offender in Fayette County. Demetrus Deundra Walker, 42, a five-time convicted felon who was on probation from a 2010 case, pled guilty to selling methamphetamine in June 2020.  


Comimssion considers premium pay

Pictured at the Fayette County Commission’s Oct. 24 meeting, from left: Commissioner Barry Corkren, Commissioner Wesley Jacobs, Commissioner Robert Townley, Commissioner Brad Cox and Commission Chairman Mike Freeman.

The Fayette County Commission held its regular meeting on Monday, Oct. 25. Commissioner John Underwood and Commissioner Shane Hughes were absent from the meeting, with all other commissioners present. Prior to the beginning of the official meeting, the commissioners held a work session. During the work session, the major topic of discussion centered around providing the county employees with premium pay, that would be funded either in part or in whole out of American Rescue Act funds provided to the county under federal COVID legislation.


EMA Director asks public to review Hazard Mitigation Plan

Fayette County Emergency Management Agency (EMA) Director Russ Taylor says the county’s Hazard Mitigation Plan has recently been updated and is available for review for area residents.
Fayette County residents who want to review the Fayette County Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan may do so by going online to https://hazardmitigationplans.com


Tombigbee RC&D presents grant awards

Shown with the grand total award check in the amount of $94,642.33, from left, front: Tombigbee RC&D Executive Director James Granger, Ronni Rene Brasher, Fayette Mayor Rod Northam, RC&D Programs Manager Tonika Wyckoff, State Senator Greg Reed, Rhonda Dunavant and Hubbertville Principal Tim Dunavant. Back: Trent Hill, Fayette Co. Commissioner Brad Cox, Berry High Principal Steve Sawyer, Warren Griffith and Adam Brand.

Officials from the Tombigbee RC&D Council was in Fayette on Monday, Oct. 18 to present grant checks to several different local agencies.

Cox named Commissioner

Brad Cox

Bradley Cox was named by Governor Kay Ivey as the new Fayette County District 1 Commissioner, effective Sept. 17. Cox replaces Joe Acker as the District one Commissioner. Acker announced his resignation at the July 26 Fayette County Commission meeting, and made his resignation official the next day by turning in the appropriate paperwork. Cox received the endorsement of the Fayette County Republican Party as Acker’s replacement during a special meeting on Aug. 17, and also met with Governor Ivey’s staff concerning the appointment on Sept. 7.


City, County receives joint state grant

Governor Kay Ivey and the Alabama Department of Transportation announced on Monday, Sept. 20 that $2.08 million in special “Rebuild Alabama” grants have been awarded throughout the state. The City of Fayette. and Fayette County received $250,000 during this special grant allocation for the paving of 25th St. NE and McConnell Loop, beginning at Hwy. 171 near Bevill and concluding back at Hwy 171 north of Walmart.

Fayette County Commission approves 2022 dumpster locations

Pictured from left: Commissioner Wesley Jacobs, Commissioner Shane Hughes and Commission Chairman Mike Freeman at the Sept. 13 meeting of the Fayette County Commission.

The Fayette County Commission approved the county’s dumpster locations for non-household garbage during its Sept. 13 meeting. All commissioners were present for the meeting, with the Commission District 1 seat presently vacant. Commissioner Barry Corkren expressed his concern that one of the days for his district’s dumpster location fell on a paid holiday and would be missed. County Engineer Josh Knight assured Corkren that the holidays were considered when scheduling the dumpster locations, and that no districts were shorted any dates.