Death of inmate under investigation

Pictured is the Fayette County Jail.

An investigation into the recent death of an inmate who was in custody at the Fayette County jail is being conducted by the State Bureau of Investigations. A statement released last week by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) stated the following: “On Wednesday, June 17, 2020, at the request of Fayette County Sheriff’s Office, Special Agents with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency’s State Bureau of Investigation (SBI) are investigating an in‐custody death reported on Wednesday, June 17, 2020, at the Fayette County Sheriff’s Office.

Celebrating Independence

Shown is a portion of the fireworks sponsored by the Central Church of Christ in Fayette.

The Central Church of Christ in Fayette sponsored an Independence Day fireworks celebration that was enjoyed by a large number of people.

First COVID-19 cases at FMC’s Long-Term Care facility

Fayette Medical Center’s Long-Term Care facility registered its first confirmed cases of the COVID-19 virus last week, according to a spokesperson for DCH Health System. Andy North, vice-president of marketing and communications for DCH, issued the following statement concerning the virus at the facility: “Late last week, a few residents at Fayette Medical Center’s Long-Term Care facility began showing symptoms of COVID-19.

BSCC developing strategic plan

Bevill State Community College (BSCC) met with faculty, staff, and administrators from all five locations on Monday, June 29, to continue the development of a new strategic plan. The College began this process earlier this year. However, recent statewide developments make the timing of this planning process optimal. At the close of the regular legislative session, Alabama lawmakers approved a $1.25 billion bond issue for school construction in the largest capital improvement project in more than a decade.

Tucker hired as FCHS football coach by BOE

Waldon Tucker (left) is shown sharing a moment with his son Lance Tucker prior to the 2015 state championship game held at Bryant-Denny Stadium in Tuscaloosa.

The Fayette County Board of Education voted 4-1 at its June 25 meeting to hire former Fayette County High School football coach and former BOE member Waldon Tucker as the new FCHS varsity football coach. All current members of the board were present for the meeting. Board Member Keith Madison opposed the hiring of Tucker, while the other board members supported the motion. Tucker resigned his position on the Fayette County Board of Education during a special-called meeting on Monday, June 22.

City Council hires two new police officers

The Fayette City Council meets at 5 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at Fayette City Hall on Temple Avenue.

The Fayette City Council approved the hiring of two new police officers during its June 23 meeting. All council members were present for the meeting. Fayette Police Chief Danny Jenkins recommended the employment of Landon Miller and Logan Wright to Mayor Ray Nelson and the Fayette City Council to fill two current vacancies in the police department. He reported that Miller has two years of law enforcement experience and is currently employed as a deputy with the Lee County Miss. Sheriff Department.

COVID-19 cases starting to stabilize in area

After a dramatic spike in local cases two weeks ago, Fayette County’s COVID-19 cases appear to have somewhat stabilized. From Monday, June 8 to Monday, June 15, the number of coronavirus cases within Fayette County increased by 26, climbing from 19 cases to 45 cases in one week. Last week, the number of new cases decreased over the same seven-day timeframe to 13 new cases. From Monday, June 22 to Monday, June 29, Fayette County again decreased in new cases, according to the Alabama Department of Public Health, with only eight new cases.

Cox accepts scholarship to Judson College

Shown at the signing, from left, front: her mother Christine Cox, Samantha Cox and her sister Alyssa Cox. Back: travel coach Sandra Holliman, Judson volleyball coach Cynthia White, FCHS volleyball coach Jackie Dodd, Police Officer Jessie Finch and Rylan Finch.

Samantha Cox, recent honor graduate and three-sport athlete at Fayette County High School, signed an athletic scholarship on June 23 to play volleyball for Judson College in Marion.

Tucker resigns from Fayette Co. Board of Education

Waldon Tucker, Fayette County Board of Education member from District 1, resigned from his position on the local school board at a special-called meeting on June 22. Tucker was not present at the meeting, but the remaining board members were in attendance. The only order of business on the agenda was Tucker’s resignation from the board. A letter presented to the board members from Tucker and dated June 18 stated the following: “Dear Mr. Burkhalter and Fayette County Board of Education Members, I am resigning my Fayette County Board of Education seat for District 1 effective June 22, 2020.