Former Fayette resident wins award

Shown is Cynthia Nalls Day, who received the Lattie Pate Whitehead Evans Award.

Cynthia Nalls Day, a graduate of Fayette County High School and The University of Alabama, was recently awarded the 18th annual Lattie Pate Whitehead Evans Award. The award recognizes women serving on for-profit board for their achievements in business. The award is named for Evans, who was one of the first women to serve on a major corporate board. Evans was appointed to the board of directors for the Coca-Cola Company in 1934, and served on the board for nearly 20 years.

Glen Allen receives Bicentennial Award

The Glen Allen Town Council met on Tuesday, May 5 with all council members in attendance for the regularly scheduled monthly meeting. The meeting was held at the Glen Allen Community Center’s parking lot, with all councilors remaining in their personal vehicles due to the coronavirus (COVID-19) social distance recommendations. Mayor Allen J.

Mahaffey receives Roy Dobbs Achievement Award

Keith Mahaffey, left, is shown receiving the Roy Dobbs Lifetime Achievement Award from Mayor Stanley Allred.

Keith Mahaffey, the former Mayor of Vance, was recently named the 2019 recipient of the Roy Dobbs Lifetime Achievement Award. The award, created by the West Alabama Mayors Association in 2013, honors a former mayor from the West Alabama region selected for having made a lasting, meaningful and positive impact on his or her community.


VFW presents awards

Shown from left: Julie Nabors, VFW Post 5406 Commander Jerry A. Fulmer, and Isaac Fowler.

The Veterans of Foreign Wars, Post 5406, held its annual awards program on April 16. Each year, the post sponsors the essay contest: “Patriot Pen, the Voice of Democracy” contest, and the “Teacher of the Year” contest. All middle and high school students are encouraged to enter. This year, the winners in the Patriot Pen contest were: Kylee B. Dunn, Emily Huang and Harry Unger IV. Isaac Fowler won the Voice of Democracy award. He prepared and gave a winning speach on our freedoms. The Teacher of the Year award was given to Julie Nabors from Hubbertville School.

Fayette Garden Club presents service award

Lindy Hindman of Fayette County High School was presented with the 2019 Fayette Garden Club Community Service Award during the April 2 Chamber of Commerce Luncheon. Shown from left: Fayette Garden Club President Doris Brasher, Hindman, Jane Introvartolo and Francis Butler.

Lindy Hindman, a senior at Fayette County High School, was presented the Fayette Garden Club’s 2019 “Outstandin Community Service Award” during the Fayette Chamber of Commerce’s “First Tuesday” luncheon on April 2.


FMC recognized for excellence

Members of the FMC and DCH Boards presented a resolution to the Fayette Medical Center’s staff and honored the employees with a reception. Shown from left are: Jim Harrison, John Mize, Mary Ann Hardin, Judge Joseph Colquitt, Dr. Linda Olivet and FMC Administrator Donald Jones.

The Fayette Medical Center (FMC) and the FMC Long-Term Care facility have been recognized as among the top healthcare facilities in the nation. FMC achieved a five-star rating from the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services, the federal agency that administrates Medicare. FMC is one of only five hospitals in Alabama and one of 293 nationwide to receive this rating, placing FMC in the top 6.5 percent of the nation’s 4,500 hospitals.

Madison receives David M. Cochrane Award

Berry Mayor Jimmy Madison received the prestigious 2018 David M. Cochrane Award during the recent West Alabama Regional Commission. Shown front, from left, are: Hope Reed and Lavonne Madison. Back row: Skylar Reed, Jimmy Madison, Jeff Madison and Will Madison.

The West Alabama Regional Commission held their Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony Thursday, Nov. 8 at Cypress Inn Pavilion. Candi Williams, State Director of AARP for Alabama, was the guest speaker for the evening. The highlight of the program was the presentation of the 2018 David M. Cochrane Award to the Honorable Jimmy Madison, Mayor of Berry. Members of the West Alabama Regional Commission’s board of directors were also recognized at the ceremony.