Municipal candidates set for Aug. 25 election

Qualifying has ended and the candidates are set for the Aug. 25 municipal election in Fayette. There will not be an election in the towns of Belk, Glen Allen and Berry, as no more than one candidate has qualified for each position. In Belk, incumbent Sherry Spack qualified for Seat One, incumbent Bill Davis qualified for Seat Two, former Council Member Karen Strickland will again be a part of the Belk governing body in Seat Three, and incumbent Jeanie Hollingsworth qualified for Seat Four. Seat Five on the Belk City Council will have to be appointed by the sitting council members at a later date, as there were no successful qualifiers for the position. Current Mayor Mike Ellison, who replaced Mayor Ronald Waldrop earlier this year, qualified for mayor.


See complete story in The Times-Record.
Subscribe now!