Fayette golf team has successful season

The Fayette County High School golf team posed for a picture at Oak Hill Country Club after winning the WAC Championship again this season. Shown from left: Charlie Cooper, William McCollum, Will Ayres, Hunter Stough, Logan Taylor, Chandler Howard, Connor Taylor, Luke Anderson, Taylor Kelly, Drew Jones and Eli Canterbury.

The Fayette County High School 2022 golf season came to a close on  May 22 at Sub-State in Dothan on the Robert Trent Jones Highland Oaks Golf Course. Head Golf Coach Ray Trull said that this event was one step short of completing the team’s goal for another trip to the state championship.

Berry Council approves heat pump purchase

Pictured at the May 2 Berry Town Council meeting, from left: Mayor Jimmy Madison, Councilwoman Mary Sue Lollar, Councilman Charles Tidwell, Councilman Russell Madison, Councilman Troyce Townsel and Councilman Calvin Madison.

The Berry Town Council held its regular monthly meeting on Monday, May 2. All council members were present for the meeting. Prior to the start of the meeting, Councilman Russell Madison led those in attendance in prayer. Councilwoman Mary Sue Lollar led the Pledge of Allegiance.


Glen Allen community holds cleanup campaign

Shown are some of the participants in Glen Allen’s cleanup event, held on April 30.

The Glen Allen Town Council met on Tuesday, May 3 at the town’s community center. All council members were in attendance for the monthly meeting. Following standard opening procedures, Mayor Allen J. Dunavant stated that an item of old business needed to be addressed prior to conducting business on the new agenda.

Driver receives scholarship

Scholarship recipient Elizabeth Driver (center) is pictured with her parents Misty and Chris Driver.

The Fayette County Education Retiree’s Association (FCERA) met on April 5 at the Fayette Civic Center.  President Frances Bulter welcomed all in attendance. Elizabeth Driver, a senior at Fayette County High School, was the recipient of the FCERA Scholarship. She will continue her education at Bevill State Community College in the fall.  


Two Bevill - Fayette students receive awards

Two Bevill State Community College (BSCC) - Fayette Campus students have been selected to the 2022 All-Alabama Academic Team. Harley Anne Lawrence (GPA: 4.0), of Kennedy, and Lindsie Jo Moseley (GPA: 4.0), of Vernon,  were honored for their accomplishments during the Annual All-Alabama Community College Academic Team Recognition Ceremony on Friday, April 22, in Birmingham.

Local softball teams finish seasons with area tounaments

Kylee Dunn is shown making a play at shortstop for the Lady Lions.

 All three high school softball teams finished their 2022 seasons by losing in the area playoffs. Hubbertville traveled to Guin to participate in the Class 1A, Area 12 tournament on Monday, May 2. The Lady Lions won its first game of the tournament by defeating Brilliant by the score of 8-4.


Fayette Police Dept. promote officers at meeting

The Fayette Police Department promoted two of its officers in rank during the April 26 Fayette City Council meeting. Shown from left: Fayette Mayor Rod Northam, Lieutenant Michael Kelley, Assistant Police Chief Mark Allison and Fayette Police Chief Danny Jenkins.

Fayette Police Chief Danny Jenkins announced the promotion of two officers during the April 26 meeting of the Fayette City Council. All council members were present for the meeting. Pastor Carlos Moore led those in attendance in prayer, with Fayette Mayor Rod Northam leading the Pledge of Allegiance.


Commission holds meeting at Boley VFD

Pictured at the April 25 meeting of the Fayette County Commission, from left: Commission Chairman Mike Freeman and commissioners: Shane Hughes, Wesley Jacobs, Robert Townley, Brad Cox and John Underwood.

The Fayette County Commission held its regularly scheduled meeting on Monday, April 25 at the Boley Volunteer Fire Department. Commissioner Barry Corkren was absent from the meeting, with all other commissioners present. This was the third in a series of monthly meetings that the commission has scheduled for communities within the various districts of the county. The first district meeting for the commission was held in February at the Newtonville Community Center, and the commissioners met at the Bankston Volunteer Fire Department in March.


C3 holds annual ‘State of the Region’ meeting

Tom Wisemiller, CEO and president of the Northwest Alabama Economic Alliance (C3), is shown speaking at the "State of the Region" meeting.

The Northwest Alabama Economic Development Alliance (commonly known as C3), met on Friday, April 29, at Vernon City Hall for its annual “State of the Region” meeting. Local leaders and businesspeople from Marion, Fayette and Lamar counties met to talk about bringing business to Northwest Alabama during a time of change.

Accident results in death

Shown is the 2001 Jeep Cherokee involved in the accident.

A single vehicle accident, that occurred at approximately 7:45 a.m. on Wednesday, April 20 in Fayette County on Highway 107 near the four-mile marker, claimed the life of the driver of a 2001 Jeep Cherokee. The vehicle left the roadway and struck a tree before catching on fire. After initially releasing an identity based on the vehicle’s identification, the Alabama State Troopers now say a positive identification of the deceased is pending the result of forensic tests. Fayette County Coroner Tim Kimbrell said the driver of the vehicle apparently died upon impact.

BOE approves personnel changes

The Fayette County Board of Education honored the “Support Staff Employees of the Year” at its April 19 meeting. From left: Randy Burns, Mary Alice Taylor, Beverly McCollum Whitfield, Kim Coley and Stephanie Jones. Also recognized but not pictured: Rusty Fields, Tammie Darty and Sandy Milligan.

The Fayette County Board of Education approved several personnel items and contracts during its April 19 meeting. All board members were present for the meeting. At the start of the meeting, board member John Aaron made a motion to enter executive session to discuss possible litigation. The motion was seconded by board member Keith Madison and was approved unanimously. After an executive session of approximately 20 minutes, the board reconvened its open meeting.